Winners of the 10th China Book Award for Special Contributions announced in Beijing

Source:Global Times Published: 2016/8/24 18:38:40

The winners of the 10th China Book Award for Special Contributions were unveiled at a ceremony held by the China National Publications Import & Export (Group) Corporation  on Tuesday in Beijing.

This year the number of possible winners was increased from 10 to 20, while a new award, the Young Achiever Award, was introduced.

Five writers, four publishers and five translators received Special Contribution awards, while five Young Achiever Awards were awarded.

This marks the first time that contributors from New Zealand, the Czech Republic, Romania, Peru, Latvia, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia and Georgia have been awarded.

Founded in 2005, the award is mainly aimed at rewarding foreign scholars, writers, translators and publishers who have made great contributions to the introduction of Chinese literature and culture overseas. Since its founding, 69 winners from 32 countries and regions have been awarded.

Among the winners, sinologist Peteris Pildegovics compiled the only Sino-Latvian dictionary; South Korean translator Kim Tae-sung played a hand in importing 200 Chinese works into South Korea; and Zuzana Li, a young translator from the Czech Republic, has translated and published A History of Art in Twentieth-Century China and best-seller Wolf Totem in her home country.

Posted in: Books

blog comments powered by Disqus