Three scientists share 2017 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine Published: 2017/10/2 17:53:07 Last Updated: 2017/10/2 20:04:22

Three scientists share 2017 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, the Nobel Committee announced on Monday in Stockholm. 

The Nobel assembly at the Karolinska Institute has decided to award the 2017 physiology or medicine prize jointly to Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm. 

For many years, people have known that living organisms, including humans, have an internal, biological clock that helps them anticipate and adapt to the regular rhythm of the day, without knowing how this clock actually work. 

"Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young were able to peek inside our biological clock and elucidate its inner workings. Their discoveries explain how plants, animals and humans adapt their biological rhythm so that it is synchronized with the Earth's revolutions," said a statement released by The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet. 

Since the seminal discoveries by the three laureates, circadian biology has developed into a vast and highly dynamic research field, with implications for our health and wellbeing, the statement said. 

Juleen Zierath, member of the committee, told Xinhua at the press conference that in light of this year's scientific discoveries, for people living in the Nordic environment and exposed to long daylights and darkness, people need to raise awareness of the importance to keep good sleep in due time, even when the sun is still shining. 

This year's prize is 9 million SEK (1.1 million US dollars).

Posted in: EUROPE

blog comments powered by Disqus