Ronaldo is best again

Source:AFP Published: 2017/10/24 22:48:39

Real Madrid dominate FIFA awards

Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates after winning the Men's Player of the Year award on Monday in London. Photo: VCG

Cristiano Ronaldo has set his sights on a "lucky seventh" piece of FIFA silverware after collecting his fifth Men's Player of the Year award on Monday.

Ronaldo's Real Madrid side, who won both La Liga and the European Champions League last season, dominated the 2017 Best FIFA soccer awards at a star-studded ceremony in London on Monday.

The Portuguese ace has scored 44 goals in just 48 games for club and country so far this calendar year, including two in a 4-1 Champions League final win over Juventus in Cardiff, Wales on June 3.

Ronaldo saw off competition from longstanding Barcelona rival Lionel Messi and Paris Saint-Germain's (PSG) Neymar, the world's most expensive player. But, typical of a player who has enjoyed huge success at both Manchester United and Real, Ronaldo was not satisfied.

"I want seven. Five is good but seven is my lucky number, so seven would be great," he said.

Real boss Zinedine Zidane took the corresponding manager of the year award, with the Spanish giants providing five players in the FIFPro team of the year.

Ronaldo won the inaugural Best FIFA men's player of the year award last year, following the end of a six-year merger between the FIFA honor and France Football's Ballon d'Or.

The 32-year-old ­previously won the FIFA World Player of the Year award, the precursor to the Best FIFA award, in 2008.

He has now won the last two FIFA men's trophies as well as three of the last four Ballon d'Or awards.

Zidane won out ahead of Chelsea's Antonio Conte and Juventus' Massimiliano Allegri to be crowned men's coach of the year, after becoming the first man to oversee a successful defense of the European Cup in the Champions League era.

Real's superb campaign was recognized in a FIFPro team that featured Ronaldo and club-mates Toni Kroos, Luka Modric, Marcelo and Sergio Ramos.

The 11-man team also included FIFA's goalkeeper of the year, Gianluigi Buffon.

AC Milan's Leonardo Bonucci and PSG's Dani Alves were in the defense, with Barcelona playmaker Andres Iniesta in a side also featuring Messi and Neymar.

Juventus and Italy shot stopper Buffon topped a three-strong shortlist for the goalkeeper award ahead of Real's Keylor Navas and Bayern Munich's Manuel Neuer.

Monday also saw the Puskas Award for the best goal of 2017 go to Arsenal's Olivier Giroud.

The French striker received the award named in honor of Hungarian great Ferenc Puskas for a spectacular "scorpion kick" against Crystal Palace in January.

Posted in: SOCCER

blog comments powered by Disqus