New Zimbabwean president announces cabinet

Source:Xinhua Published: 2017/12/1 16:17:29

Zimbabwean President Emmerson Mnangagwa on Thursday appointed a cabinet of 22 members mainly from the ruling ZANU-PF party.

Mnangagwa became president last week after 93-year-old Robert Mugabe agreed to resign after 37 years of leadership.

The president named Sibusiso Moyo, former chief of staff in the Zimbabwe National Army, as foreign minister and Perence Shiri, head of the Zimbabwe Air Force, was appointed minister of lands and culture.

Patrick Chinamasa was appointed as finance minister and former Zimbabwe National Liberation War Veterans Association chairman Christopher Mutsvangwa as the new information minister.

The new cabinet also includes Obert Mpofu, who was retained as home affairs minister, Kembo Mohadi, the former state security minister who is now defense minister and Ziyambi Ziyambi as the new justice minister.

Posted in: AFRICA

blog comments powered by Disqus