Kershaw, Kluber win Cy Young Awards

Source:AFP-Global Times Published: 2014-11-13 23:53:02

Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Clayton Kershaw unanimously won the National League Cy Young Award on Wednesday, taking the Major League Baseball trophy for the third time in four years.

Kershaw became, at 26, the youngest pitcher to win the award three times after taking the honor in back-to-back ­seasons, being the top selection on all 30 ballots to earn 210 points from a media panel, 98 more than runner-up Johnny Cueto of Cincinnati and 97 ahead of St. Louis ace Adam Wainwright.

Cleveland's Corey Kluber edged Seattle's Felix Hernandez for the American League's Cy Young Award as top pitcher, taking 17 first-place votes and 169 points to 13 first-place votes and 159 votes for ­Hernandez, the 2010 Cy Young winner.

Left-hander Kershaw's victory marked the 12th Cy Young Award for a Dodgers ­pitcher, five more than any other ­National League club. His only loss in Cy Young voting came in 2012 when knuckleballer R.A. Dickey took the award.

Kershaw was sidelined for than a month at the start of the season with a strained ­upper back muscle but matched a career-high with 21 wins in 27 starts with 239 strikeouts and a career-low three defeats and career bests with a 1.77 earned-run average and six complete games, both major league season bests as well.

Kershaw threw his first career no-hitter on June 18 against Colorado, a perfect game spoiled only by Hanley Ramirez's throwing error in the seventh inning.

Other unanimous winners of the Cy Young Award include Dodger legends Sandy Koufax and Orel Hershiser.

"It's a huge honor," said Kershaw.

Right-hander Kluber went 18-9 with a 2.44 earned-run ­average and 269 strikeouts over a league-high 34 starts, throwing 235 2/3 innings. He won five starts in September on his way to becoming the third Indians pitcher to win the award since 2007, joining Cliff Lee and C.C. Sabathia.

Posted in: Baseball

blog comments powered by Disqus