Sebastien Buemi wins FIA Formula E race in Berlin

Source:Xinhua Published: 2016/5/22 11:05:51

Renault e.dams driver Sebastien Buemi clinched the first place in BMW i Berlin ePrix after keeping ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport drivers Daniel Abt and Lucas Di Grassi behind following 48 laps of racing on Saturday.

Buemi narrowed down the advantage of leader Di Grassi to one point after reaping his third win of the campaign and his sixth in the Formula E overall. Daniel Abt finished on second place followed by championship leader Di Grassi, who bounced back from the eighth place to make the podium.

DS Virgin Racing driver Jean-Eric Vergne started from the pole position but was immediately passed by Buemi, who got a perfect getaway to take the lead. However, it was a short-lived joy by the Swiss as Vergne wrestled back the top spot in the second lap.

Buemi remained on Vergne' s heels before they traded the lead in lap six again. The Swiss then worked out an eight-second advantage to his rivals, who were unable to intercept Buemi despite a late Safety Car.

"I am very happy. It is amazing feeling to win in Berlin," Buemi said. Di Grassi, who finished on third and leads the overall standings, said that it was very tough race for him, as he had to start from the eight place.

With the result, championship leader Di Grassi will take a one-point advantage against Buemi into the season ending double-header in London on July 2-3.

The Formula E made their second stop in Berlin after the first was held at the Tempelhof Airport venue. The drivers faced an all-new downtown venue, which was 1.927 kilometers long and located near the Alexanderplatz, in the centre of Berlin.

Official race results

1. Sebastien Buemi - Renault e.Dams 53:46.086

2. Daniel Abt - ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport 53:47.853 +1.767

3. Lucas di Grassi - ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport 53:48.467 +2.381

4. Nico Prost - Renault e.Dams 53:49.414 +3.328

5. Jean-Eric Vergne - DS Virgin Racing 53:51.013 +4.927

6. Robin Frijns - Andretti 53:52.587 +6.501

7. Nick Heidfeld - Mahindra Racing 53:53.786 +7.700

8. Mike Conway - Venturi 53:54.391 +8.305

9. Simona de Silvestro - Andretti 53:58.559 +12.473

10. Stephane Sarrazin - Venturi 53:59.327 +13.241

11. Sam Bird - DS Virgin Racing 53:55.648 1 Lap

12. Oliver Turvey - NEXTEV TCR 53:56.703 1 Lap

13. Nelson Piquet - NEXTEV TCR 53:57.324 1 Lap

14. Qing Hua Ma - Team Aguri 54:05.697 1 Lap

15. Bruno Senna - Mahindra Racing 54:20.903 2 Laps

16. Jerome d' Ambrosio - Dragon Racing 54:19.524 3 Laps

17. Rene Rast - Team Aguri 53:59.745

18. Loic Duval - Dragon Racing 43:26.398

Posted in: Motorsport

blog comments powered by Disqus