Brazil drawn against Fiji in Olympic rugby sevens

Source:Xinhua Published: 2016/6/29 9:29:32

Hosts Brazil have been drawn in the same group as reigning men's World Rugby Sevens Series champions Fiji at this year's Olympic Games.

Group A will also include the United States and Brazil's arch rivals Argentina, the Rio 2016 organizing committee said on Tuesday.

Group B will feature South Africa, Australia, France and Spain and Group C New Zealand, Britain, Kenya and Japan.

In the women's competition Brazil have been allotted Group C alongside Canada, Great Britain and Japan.

Group B comprises New Zealand, France, Spain and Kenya while Group A has Australia, the United States, Fiji and Colombia.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the quarterfinals plus the two best third-placed teams.

The match schedule will be announced in mid-July.

Rugby sevens will be making its debut as an Olympic sport at the Rio Games, which run from August 5 to 21.

Rugby union was part of the Olympic program from 1900 to 1924.

Posted in: Rugby

blog comments powered by Disqus