OPINION >> Top Talk

Abe's apologism causes scholarly concern

In very clear ways, Abe's words reveal that he is trying to create a very different narrative for the 20th century than other prime ministers of Japan have explained as Japanese history.
Source: Global Times | 2015/5/20 22:53:01

Mutual trust key for China-SK relationship

There is tremendous potential to tap in all-around cooperation, such as security and military, notably peaceful reunification of the peninsula and cyber security.
Source: Global Times | 2015/5/18 20:58:01

Dragon-elephant rivalry should be rejected

I reject this idea that China and India are natural rivals. Yes, there is competition in many areas, but that is not to be afraid of. Competition does not mean confrontation or conflict.
Source: Global Times | 2015/5/12 23:03:01

Chinese voices starting to be heard in UK elections

One of my initiatives is to encourage more Chinese people to engage in politics, so we can empower the Chinese communities.
Source: Global Times | 2015/5/5 23:43:01

Realistic approach can build Sino-US trust

In international relations, nothing is forever, so we need always to be mindful that things do change. But the fundamental differences of US and China opinions are well known. For the foreseeable future, we cannot foresee these differences being resolved. But we can also agree to a protocol for the management of these differences so that any one of them doesn't destroy the total relationship.
Source: Global Times | 2015/4/23 23:53:01

Xi's Pakistan visit worth anticipating

Pakistan-China relations have grown from strength to strength.
Source: Global Times | 2015/4/19 22:53:01

Congress leader predicts return to power

We hope that he takes steps to strengthen our relationship with China. Border issues are long pending and need to be fast tracked.
Source: Global Times | 2015/4/13 23:08:01

AIIB could rank among world's top bodies

I believe the AIIB will rise to be among the world's top organizations and the Danish government will try to help make that happen, together with other founding countries, and agree on the articles for the bank in a very open and transparent consensus-seeking process.
Source: Global Times | 2015/4/6 21:53:01

Yunus sees room for microcredit in China

On the contrary, it is more reliable and practical. The slackened growth rate, if stabilized, can become a normal state of economic development. As long as there are no long-term fluctuations, I think we can maintain an optimistic attitude.
Source: Global Times | 2015/2/25 0:28:01

Iran ready for challenge of terror and oil drop

But terrorism is not a phenomenon that only one or two countries can contain. It asks for international resolution and international coalition.
Source: Global Times | 2015/2/12 23:03:01

US hegemonic quest in Mideast creates chaos

With the rise of the Islamic State (IS), the conflicts in Syria and Iraq, and the struggle between Iran and the West over nuclear issues, the Middle East remained chaotic in 2014. What about 2015? What kind of role will the US play in the regional political landscape? At a seminar held by the Chongyang Institute for Financial Studies, Renmin University of China, Global Times (GT) reporter Liu Zhun talked to Flynt Leverett (Flynt), former senior director of Middle East Affairs at the National Security Council (NSC), and Hillary Mann Leverett (Hillary), former director of Iran, Afghanistan and Persian Gulf Affairs at the NSC, about these issues.
Source: Global Times | 2015/1/20 0:13:01

Latin America shifts toward Pacific possibilities

The first ministerial meeting on cooperation between China and the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC) concluded in Beijing on January 9. The recent years have witnessed intensifying cooperation between China and Latin America. What has driven this trend? How will the US react to this move in an area it has traditionally considered its own? Global Times (GT) reporter Li Aixin interviewed Costa Rica President Luis Guillermo Solis (Solis) over these issues.
Source: Global Times | 2015/1/12 20:43:01

Afghanistan ready to tackle future with help

Fighting only the symptoms is not enough.
Source: Global Times | 2014/12/22 21:03:01

Different views can boost China's soft power

If China shows there is a friendly willingness to have this code of conduct, that might help China's soft power, and China will still always be the biggest power in the region just by its size.
Source: Global Times | 2014/12/2 0:28:01

US, China can work together to cool disputes

I think these are the ways of reaching out and cooperating. It's very important that in the coming years these activities continue and China reaches out to the US and other countries to involve them in the activities in China. That cannot just be a one-way street.
Source: Global Times | 2014/12/8 21:03:01

Ambiguity risky in Sino-US power games

A substantial contingent of Chinese observers believe the US still pursues hegemony and is unlikely to share power in Asia with China.
Source: Global Times | 2014/12/15 20:18:01

Obama looks away from Mideast for legacy

With the threats from the Islamic State (IS), will the US stay as the biggest stakeholder, or will it pull back strategically in the Middle East?
Source: Global Times | 2014/11/24 20:03:01

Country's transition hangs in balance

What does he think of China's success today? What problems does the country face?
Source: Global Times | 2014/11/17 18:38:01