OP-ED >> Viewpoint

New chapter opens in Sino-Arab friendship

Sino-Arab friendship has endured the test of history. Guided by the Belt and Road initiative, the ancient silk road will once again usher in glory, and Sino-Arab relations will start a new chapter.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/11 18:43:40

Is Trump really hurting transatlantic ties?

In my understanding, transatlantic relations will not see better days just because a post-Trump administration will emerge. There are concrete problems built up over decades and if we can blast Trump over his economic measures, we should support him for his attempts at détente. It is for this reason that I suggest a closer and objective look at the Helsinki summit.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/11 18:33:40

Is it fair to treat foreigners more kindly?

There is no need to treasure one over the other. So what is next? Should we become one-sided in the name of patriotism or should we exercise some reason in agreeing that we should try to treat all people with the same degree of positivity while reducing VIP treatment?
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/10 20:18:39

Brussels showing needless skepticism over China-CEEC cooperation

The year 2018 also marks the 15th anniversary of the China-EU comprehensive strategic partnership. The 16+1 cooperation can help China and Europe deepen ties and protect the global economic order based on rules.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/10 18:08:40

China, EU to instill stability in global order

The EU's suspicion of China's rise has hindered the improvement of bilateral relations. In today's uncertain world, China and the EU have great potential for cooperation. But the key is whether the bloc can let go of its suspicions and work hand in hand with China in a frank and pragmatic way.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/10 18:08:39

Environmental governance in a new era

China will play a part in ensuring global ecological security. It takes a village to build an ecological civilization which is vital to sustain any nation's development in the Anthropocene. As the Katowice Climate Change Conference approaches, the world gets an important opportunity to rethink the way to fulfill promises of eco-environmental governance and make our planet a better place to live on.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/9 18:03:39

Trump-Putin meet may unravel key issues

Overall, there is reason for optimism that Trump will be able to reach agreement with Putin on key issues. The world needs peace and development, not major power confrontation.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/8 18:48:39

Europe sails without a humanitarian goal

We must recover our humanitarian values, those we lost some time ago when we started to grow as a community.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/8 18:23:39

Slender&tender: Debate on male beauty challenges norms

In recent years, the "little fresh meats" craze seems to be sweeping over China. TFBoys have gained women's affection. Their fans regard themselves as "aunts" or "elder sisters" of the three teenage boys. The social influence the young lads exercise and their commercial value is even higher than world-famous celebrities.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/5 22:08:07

Trump aims to upend current trading order: Expert

What Trump is doing is to change the current multilateral trading system.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/5 22:08:07

Europe sails without a humanitarian goal

Spanish MEP Beatriz Becerra, vice-president of the European Parliament's Human Rights subcomission, acknowledged that "EU needs a common, generous and equitable policy." We must recover our humanitarian values, those we lost some time ago when we started to grow as a community.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/5 19:03:40

Chinese firms in US brace for tough times

According to reports released this year by Rhodium Group, foreign direct investment (FDI) from China into the US dropped 35 percent in 2017 and then plunged 92 percent to $1.8 billion in the first five months of this year.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/5 18:08:39

Government cap on fee brings down curtain on stars' high incomes

The wealth gap in China will remain large, but the problem is being addressed. Hopefully, the new rule can help celebrities focus on their work instead of manipulating taxes.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/5 17:58:39

China, EU explore cooperation in Trump era

To sum up, China and the EU are currently collaborating to preserve what Trump is challenging. This cooperation provides new opportunities for a harmonious engagement of the two sides in dealing with rather "unnecessary" international problems. But to assume this cooperation might signal the beginning of a new process leading the EU away from the US on issues touching upon China's national interest, is rather closer to utopia than to reality. Therefore, while Sino-European relations are developing fast, restrictions should not be ignored.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/5 15:38:39

China's role in stability in Mideast and Africa

Sustainable and affordable quality infrastructure for all is an African priority essential for the success of the BRI. Empowering Africa's private sector, including SMEs, to maximize finance for development should be geared to effectively contribute toward achieving not only a sustainable climate-friendly growth, but also an inclusive one, thereby harnessing BRI as a catalyst for reducing inequality, advancing shared prosperity, and contributing to the stability of the African Continent.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/4 18:23:41

China's success has lessons for the world

Owing to the Chinese policy of investing in a shared future, the developing world is now looking toward China rather than at traditional players of global growth. The inventive methods adopted by China in fostering development are a lesson that any developing nation can overcome challenges even during the span of a single generation.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/4 9:48:39

White paper shows China respects trade norms

All in all, it is the first time China has issued such an official document in relation to world trade. Together with its determination to systematically present economic progress to international public opinion, the Chinese administration recognizes the importance of the WTO.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/3 18:48:39

US makes risky military moves with Taiwan

If the US and Taiwan insist on playing with fire, let them burn their hands.
Source: Global Times | 2018/7/3 18:43:39