Greater Mekong subregion joint transport committee to meet later this year

Source:Xinhua Published: 2013-9-6 13:59:18

The Joint Transport Committee of six countries of the Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS) is set to meet for their fourth time in Nay Pyi Taw later this year, official media reported Friday.

The GMS joint transport committee is made up of chairmen of Smooth Transport Committees of the six countries, namely Cambodia, China, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam.

In a work coordination meeting in preparation for the fourth joint committee meeting held in the capital Thursday, also attended by officials from the Asian Development Bank (ADB), issues involving regional transport, customs and immigration were discussed, the report said.

Views were also exchanged on the smooth flow of goods across borders and on implementation of the GMS cross-border transport agreement, the report added.

In June 2012, Myanmar hosted an GMS economic corridors forum in the second largest city of Mandalay, focusing on five sections including infrastructural development in transportation, smoothing logistics, trading and transport on GMS economic corridors, urban development, migration and human resources development, prioritized investment in energy, agriculture and related sectors, new GMS strategic framework, regional investment framework and development of economic corridors.

In December 2011, the fourth GMS summit took place in Nay Pyi Taw, endorsing the New 10-year GMS Strategic Framework for 2012- 2022.

The GMS Economic Cooperation Program was started in 1992 by the six countries sharing the Mekong River. It promotes economic and social development, irrigation and cooperation within the six Mekong countries.

blog comments powered by Disqus