1948 Arab-Israeli War
The 1948 Arab-Israeli War, called the “War of Independence”, was the first in a series of wars in the Arab-Israeli conflict. It established the state of Israel as an independent state, dividing the remaining areas of the British Mandate of Palestine into areas controlled by Egypt and Transjordan.
1956 War: The Suez Crisis
The Suez Crisis, also referred to as the Tripartite Aggression, Suez War, or Second Arab-Israeli War, was a diplomatic and military confrontation in late 1956 between Egypt on one side, and Britain, France and Israel on the other, with the US, the former Soviet Union, and the UN playing major roles in forcing Britain, France and Israel to withdraw.
1967 June War: The Six-Day War
The Six-Day War, also known as the June War, 1967 Arab-Israeli War, or Third Arab-Israeli War, was fought between June 5 and 10, 1967, by Israel and the neighboring states of Egypt (known at the time as the United Arab Republic), Jordan and Syria.
1973 October War: Yom Kippur War
The Yom Kippur War, also known as the 1973 Arab-Israeli War and the Fourth Arab-Israeli War, was a war of aggression fought by the coalition of Arab states led by Egypt and Syria against Israel from October 6 to 25, 1973.
1982 Lebanon Invasion: Operation Peace for Galilee
The 1982 Lebanon War, called Operation Peace for Galilee by Israel, and later known in Israel as the Lebanon War and First Lebanon War, began on June 6, 1982, when the Israel Defense Forces invaded southern Lebanon. The Government of Israel launched the military operation after the Abu Nidal Organization’s assassination attempt against Israel’s ambassador to the UK, Shlomo Argov.
Source: Xinhua