OPINION

Causes of China-US tensions go beyond trade


The causes of the current US-China discord are deeper and more structural than just competition over tariffs and technology. It's rooted in the transitional forces in world order.

US will rue forcing China's hand on rare earths

An export ban on rare earths is a powerful weapon if used in the China-US trade war. Nevertheless, China will mainly use it for defense. It is not the first choice of China's offensive weaponries.
Source: Global Times | 2019/5/29 5:28:38

Healthy AI competition makes us all better off

Artificial Intelligence (AI) is one of the major topics in the current world. Will AI replace humans and deplete employment opportunities? What should we do to stay competitive? Where is the so-called AI war between major powers heading?
Source: Global Times | 2019/5/28 22:03:42

Why did FedEx divert Huawei parcels?

China is very restrained. We hope the US can see rationality and calm from our restraint, rather than weakness. There is always a price to pay for being evil. Is the US doing evil by cracking down on Huawei and launching its brutal tariff war against China? US public opinion should figure this out by itself.
Source: Global Times | 2019/5/28 21:48:40

Ideological debate in Chinese society should stay away from Huawei

Chinese society should respect and understand Huawei, back the company in a way it needs rather than letting it bear too much moral responsibility it cannot undertake as a commercial company. The ideological debate in Chinese society should stay away from Huawei.
Source: Global Times | 2019/5/28 20:58:40

US inhumane sanctions on Venezuela violate UN Charter

If the US wishes to restore its influence in Latin America, it must first of all show respect for others' sovereignty, instead of rude interference. It's time for Washington to consider lifting the sanctions as soon as possible. Otherwise, the reputation of the US will be further jeopardized.
Source: Global Times | 2019/5/28 20:33:40

Incoherent US policies throw world into difficult environment

The world is seeing many unprecedented changes today: the ongoing China-US trade war, Brexit, Washington's unilateralism and incoherent policy... Where is our current global system heading? Will there be changes in international regulations? What should countries do to maintain a stable international order?
Source: Global Times | 2019/5/28 19:13:40

Europe's future lies in Eurasian integration

In the race of the new industrial revolution, the EU lags behind China and the US, at least in 5G communication. If the EU can't lead in technical standards, it is supposed to actively participate in Eurasian integration to build the future market. The EU has to decide.
Source: Global Times | 2019/5/28 19:08:42

BRI an incentive for better China-Japan ties

If Japanese officials and politicians have strategic sense, they will and can cooperate more with China. But it is difficult now. We will still swing between the two. The US will continue to put heavy pressure on Japan to open its market in the agricultural and weapons sectors.
Source: Global Times | 2019/5/28 19:03:42

US must clarify its China approach

If Washington turns its jealousy against China's development into all-round containment of the country, and would seek to sacrifice the two peoples' livelihoods and world peace only to tear China down, then this is an evil policy that violates political morality
Source: Global Times | 2019/5/27 22:05:16

Target practice

Huawei is a target of the US.
Source: Global Times | 2019/5/27 21:13:40

US starts to feel pain from its own trade war

China is well-prepared for a protracted war. If Washington insists on engaging in such a trade war, China will certainly not hesitate to fight back. But now, just let the US pay the painful price of its trade war.
Source: Global Times | 2019/5/27 21:03:43

UK political rifts to continue after May leaves

There is huge space and a possibility for China-UK cooperation, such as the joint construction of the Belt and Road Initiative, financial cooperation and so on. The quality of China's development and its speed of opening-up will prompt the UK and the EU to take the initiative to cooperate with China.
Source: Global Times | 2019/5/27 20:05:59

Public opinion unity helps weather trade war

A post titled "a few thoughts on trade war" was circulating online last week.
Source: Global Times | 2019/5/27 19:52:25